Some people are worth melting for…

I know it has been a while… I apologise to the blogging community! I have had a very hectic couple of weeks but here is some fun from the weekend that I would like to share:

This weekend we celebrated my sister’s 25th birthday, and what could be more appropriate than a ‘Frozen’ themed cake?!

The cake was a surprise and so while my sister was out relaxing at Bath Spa with friends, I spent all of Saturday afternoon making the cake with my younger sister and the birthday girl’s boyfriend. Here is how it turned out:

Frozen birthday cake!

Frozen birthday cake!

The bottom layer was a plain two layered sponge (with jam and butter icing in the middle of course) and the top cake was a rich chocolate cake covered in chocolate butter icing

DSC_0560

DSC_0566

DSC_0525

DSC_0579

I use a very easy recipe when I’m making a sponge cake, it is simply a ratio of eggs to all the other ingredients, 1:2, so you can adjust for the size of cake you are making.
For this sponge I used:

  • 6 eggs
  • 12 Oz self-raising flour
  • 12 Oz caster sugar
  • 12 Oz butter
  • 1.5 table spoons of baking powdermix all the ingredients together until they form a smooth uniform consistency -you don’t want any lumps of butter/sugar (I use an electric whisk or a Kenwood if it is going to be a big cake)

and to make the chocolate cake….

  • add cocoa powder to taste (usually a few tablespoons) -or just watch the cake mix colour turn to chocolate as you mix it in

Bake in the oven for 25-35 mins at 175 degrees and you will have yourself one scrummy cake!

For the butter icing I tend not to worry with exact measurements, but as a rough guidance starting with 50g of butter will make a fair amount (depending on how thick you like it!)
I then just add in icing sugar (sieved) with a couple of table spoons of milk and hand whisk them together until it is a smooth easily spreadable consistency -just keep adding in that icing sugar until you have reached the sweetness you are aiming to please.

And to make the chocolate butter icing: repeat the above but with a little less icing sugar and a few table spoons of cocoa powder mixed in there instead.

DSC_0631

Happy baking!

One thought on “Some people are worth melting for…

Leave a Reply

